Martin’s Musings: Emergence

eccentric interests!

85145744

The T39: Quality and the Perfect Personal Device?

“For those of us who use both a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA) and a mobile phone, the Holy Grail is a single integrated device. I’ve always wondered which side of the market would drive convergence of devices. On the one hand, the Palm OS and Windows Pocket PC devices have slick intuitive user interfaces with thousands of applications. On the other hand, the market clout and distribution channels of the major mobile handset manufacturers (e.g., Nokia, Motorola, Ericsson) suggested they could eventually dominate. So I kept my eye out for the perfect personal device hoping that this would suggest which sector would eventually be in the driver’s seat….

I had noticed during my trips to Asia that handsets in those markets are small, beautifully made and often hang around necks on cords – they’re more like fashion accessories than phones. Slowly, it’s been dawning on me that the perfect personal device is more about form factor and quality than anything….

picture of the T39m My latest personal device, the Sony Ericsson T39m, is beautifully made, synchronizes with my contact list and calendar in Outlook/Exchange, provides GSM tri-band support, has a POP3 email client, T9 predictive text input, Bluetooth, GPRS, a long-life battery, and best of all, it has a small and elegant form factor which just feels right. It fits in any pocket and really is the first device that I don’t mind having with me anywhere, anytime. So the T39m has my vote as the current perfect personal device. Bravo to Ericsson.” [robertshaw.info, thanks to Will for the pointer]

[The Shifted Librarian] [SV2002]

 

I have to say that this is a pretty nice looking phone….

 

June 5, 2002 - Posted by | Random Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

